Beaver County Added to Alberta's COVID-19 Region 'Watch' List

Stock Photo

The Beaver County region has been added to the Alberta Government’s COVID-19 Outbreak ‘Watch’ list ...

As of Wednesday’s update, the region had jumped up to 33 ‘active’ cases of the virus – an increase of 24 cases from Tuesday’s update.

According to the province, when a region is under the ‘Watch’ list provincial officials are monitoring the risk and discussing with local governments and other community leaders the possible need for additional health measures.

Beaver County has issued a statement on its website that states, “Alberta Health Services has assured us that all cases, both the ones in the past, and now the most recent ones, are from a known source, and everyone involved is cooperating with Alberta Health Services to prevent further spread”

The release goes on to state that “the general population in the Beaver County Region is not at risk.”

Elsewhere around the region, the County of Minburn, including Vegreville continued to report one ‘active’ case of COVID 19 while the County of Two Hills is reporting two ‘active’ cases.

Lamont County, the County of Vermilion River and St. Paul County continue to report zero ‘active’ cases.

Strathcona County, excluding Sherwood Park is reporting four ‘active’ cases of COVID-19 while Sherwood Park is reporting three ‘active’ cases.

In all, Alberta reported 133 new cases of the virus on Wednesday bringing the number of the ‘active’ cases in the province to 1,430.

There were also three additional COVID-19 related deaths in the province for a total of 190 lives lost in Alberta.

To date, of the 10,603 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Alberta, 8,983 have been deemed recovered.

More from Local News