Vegreville's Val & Team Einarson Win Players' Championship

via: @EinarsonTeam (Twitter)

Val Sweeting and Team Kerri Einarson defeated Anna Hasselborg 5-4 in an extra end on Sunday to win the women's title at the Players' Championship ...

The win capped a string of four victories in a row for the rink.

The team of Einarson, Sweeting, Shannon Birchard and Briane Meilleur finished the round-robin portion of the tournament at 2-3, but ended as champions by running the table in their final four draws.

Hasselborg, the reigning Olympic champion, was undefeated in the tournament up until the final.

Meanwhile, Sherwood Park's Brendan Bottcher captured men's crown at the Grand Slam event with a 6-1 win over Calgary's Kevin Koe earlier on Sunday.

More from Local Sport