A.P.C.C.A. Hands Out The Hardware

The Alberta Professional Chuckwagon and Chariot Association handed out the hardware at their Annual Awards Banquet in Vegreville on Saturday night ...

This year’s Top A.P.C.C.A. Awards went to Vegreville’s Dwayne Dubuc for ‘Wagon Driver of the Year’ and Kelsey, Alberta’s Chester Blatz for ‘Chariot Driver of the Year’.

Dubuc says it’s something he’s been working toward for a long time and credits his wife for the extra motivation.

Meantime, Blatz, who owned Chariots that finished in three out of the top four spots in the A.P.C.C.A.’s season standings this year, couldn’t say enough about the support that helped make this season happen.

The Association also saw a youth movement sweep the ‘Rookie Awards’ with 18 year old Casey Wright of Stettler winning ‘Rookie Wagon Driver of the Year’.

Meantime, 14 year old Breanna O’Connor of Wizard Lake, Alberta won ‘Rookie Chariot Driver of the Year’.

Dubuc, who's also the A.P.C.C.A.’s President, says on a night also celebrating 50 years as an Association, it was great to see younger members awarded for their efforts.

Other award winners from Saturday included:

'Family of the Year': The Wright Family (Todd, Jeannie, Casey & Emily)

'Most Sportsmanlike': Todd Maupin

'Fair Board of the Year': Vegreville Ag Society

'Clean Chariot Driver' Award: Adam Waldner

'Clean Wagon Driver' Award: Garnet Bengston

'Volunteer of the Year': Greg Bell

'Most Dedicated': Jim O'Connor

'Mark Harris Achievement' Award: Larry Hutchings

Chariot Horse Awards:

Adam Waldner/Sharon Dyer & Chester Blatz

Wagon Horse Awards:

Rob Nordick, Mike Cooke, Brent Holte & Dwayne Dubuc

The Alberta Chuckwagon and Chariot Association also offered a salute to long-time Secretary Carol Moran who officially retired from the position after 32 years at the post.

More from Local Sport

Recently Played