A.P.C.C.A. Annual Awards Night Held in Vegreville

A.P.C.C.A. Members gathered at the Vegreville Social Center for their Annual Awards Night on Saturday ...

The A.P.C.C.A. handed out their annual hardware over the weekend in Vegreville.

Alberta Professional Chuckwagon and Chariot Association Members gathered at the Social Center for their Annual Awards Night on Saturday where Marty Maxwell of Camrose was ‘officially’ named the A.P.C.C.A.’s 2017 Chariot Champion.

Maxwell, who finished with outfits in 1st and 3rd in the standings, says this past season was years in the making.

Meantime, Mike Cooke of Lloydminster took home the buckle as the year’s Top Wagon Driver.

Cooke also took home the Jim Becker Memorial Award for ‘Cleanest Wagon Driver’

Other Awards handed out on Saturday, included:

Todd Maupin of Rocky Mountain House being named the Rookie Wagon Driver of the year

Daysland’s Jason Waldner took home the Rookie Chariot Driver of the year honor

Kim Hughes of Westerose won the Ben Rookes Memorial Award for the ‘Cleanest Chariot Driver’

Jim O’Connor of Wizard Lake won the Greg Smith Memorial Award as the ‘Most Sportsmanlike Driver’

and Vegreville’s Dawyne Dubuc won the Association’s Volunteer of the Year award.

More from Local Sport

Recently Played